Back to top

County Executive Committee

Our County Executive Committee plays a vital role in the running of our Scout County. Our Executive Committee makes decisions and carry out administrative tasks to ensure that the best quality Scouting can be delivered to young people across South London.

If you would like to contact any of our Executive Officers please click here for their contact details. 

Our County Executive Committee exists to support our County Commissioner in meeting the responsibilities of his appointment. Its members act collectively as charity trustees of South London County Scout Council and in the best interests of our members to:

  • comply with the policy, organisation and rules of The Scout Association
  • protect and maintain any property and equipment owned by and/or used by the County
  • manage the County finances
  • provide insurance for people, property and equipment
  • provide sufficient resources for scouting to operate. This includes, but is not limited to supporting recruitment, volunteer support, and fundraising activities
  • promote and support the development of scouting in the local area
  • manage and implement the safety policy locally
  • ensure that a positive image of scouting exists in the local community
  • appoint and manage the operation of any sub-Committees, including appointing Chairmen to lead the sub-committees
  • ensure that young people are meaningfully involved in decision making at all levels within the County
  • The opening, closure and amalgamation of Districts, and County level Scout Active Support Units as necessary
  • appoint and manage the operation of a County Appointments Advisory Committee
  • ensure that as a County we work towards the national vision for scouting in 2023 
  • manage the ‘The Fort’  South London’s Scout Centre;
  • provide a professional County Development Service to improve support groups in providing great quality scouting and increase the number of young people and adults enjoying scouting in South London
  • provide a professional County Administrator to support the work of the County Team and provide a “one stop shop” for information about South London Scouts

The Executive Committee must also:

  • Appoint Administrators, Advisers, and Co-opted members of the Executive Committee
  • Approve the Annual Report and Annual Accounts after their examination by an appropriate auditor, independent examiner or scrutineer
  • Present the Annual Report and Annual Accounts to the Scout Council at the Annual General Meeting; file a copy with National Headquarters and if a registered charity, to submit them to the appropriate charity regulator.
  • Maintain confidentiality with regard to appropriate Executive Committee business
  • Where staff are employed, act as a responsible employer in accordance with Scouting’s values and relevant legislation
  • Ensure line management responsibilities for employed staff are clearly established and communicated. Members of the County Executive Committee.

The County Executive meets regularly throughout the year and has committed itself to becoming an exemplar of good practice in governance.

The County Executive is made up of four types of members:

  • Ex-officio members have a role on the Committee due to their role in Scouting. These include:
    • County Chairman
    • County Commissioner
    • County Scout Network Commissioner
    • County Secretary
    • County Treasurer
    • County Youth Commissioner
  • Elected members stand for election at the Annual General Meeting and are elected by the County Scout Council to take on the role; there are usually four to six in number.
  • Nominated members are nominated by the County Commissioner in partnership with the County Chair and approved at the Annual General Meeting; there must be no more nominated members than elected members.
  • Co-opted members are chosen to take on a role by the County Executive Committee due to specific skills or knowledge useful to the committee; there must be no more co-opted members than elected members.

The membership is set up this way to ensure that the interests of the County Council and the County Commissioner are represented, and balanced.

Charity Trustees

Scout Counties in England and Wales are considered charities by law, and some may be registered with the appropriate charity regulator. All members of the County Executive Committee are charity trustees. To comply with legislation, all charities must have a governing body, which in Scouting we call an Executive Committee. Members of the Executive Committee must act collectively as Charity Trustees of the Scout County.

Our Executive Committee Members (July 2018 to July 2019):


  • County Chairman                             Martyn Bain**
  • County Commissioner                      Darren Lodge 
  • County Treasurer                              Jason Nwogbe
  • County Secretary                              Vacant
  • County Youth Commissioner           Megan Carmichael



  • Simon Emmett
  • Terry Wiggins
  • Linda Moore*
  • Megan Carmichael
  • Ian Cunningham
  • Debbie Jeacock
  • Cheryl Stonebridge
  • Ben Ensom
  • David Attenborough
  • Russell Jones
  • Victoria Wilcox


  • Eileen Cooper***


*       also Chairman of County Appointments Sub-Committee            
**     also Chairman of County Finance Sub-Committee
***   Chairman of County Premises Sub-Committee