Back to top


Scouts are young people aged 10 ½ to 14 years old

Scouts are encouraged to take part in a wide range of activities as part of their programme. "Participation" rather than meeting set standards is the key approach and for the scout who wants to be recognised for his or her achievements there are a lots of challenge awards and activity badges.

Scouts take part in a balanced programme that helps them to find out about the world in which they live, encourages them to know their own abilities and the importance of keeping fit and helps develop their creative talents. It also provides opportunities to explore their own values and personal attitudes.


Scout uniform consists of a long-sleeved shirt of a blue-green colour described as teal,  (or light blue for air and sea scouts), a neckerchief and woggle, and navy blue activity trousers, leather scout belt and buckle. A skirt, activity shorts and polo shirt are available as options. 


Awards and badges

Scouts can gain a number of awards and badges during their time in the section…

Joining In Awards
The Joining In Award recognises a young person's commitment to Scouting and are usually given on each anniversary of Members joining the Movement. Two Joining In Awards can be received by Beaver Scouts and when they move up to Cub Scouts they wear the highest one they attained in Beavers. The badges take the form of a small coloured star with a number showing the amount of years they have been in Scouting.

Scout Membership Award
The Membership Award is only actually received by young people new to Scouting, whereas those Scouts who have joined from a Cub Scout Pack will undertake the Moving-On Award. However, the Awards cover the same basic principles, and many Troops will have all new Scouts participate in the Membership Award, regardless of how they came to join the Section.

Challenge awards
There are ten Challenge awards, covering the six Programme Zones or key areas of the Scout programme. The Zones are: Outdoor and Adventure, Beliefs and Attitudes, Community, Fitness, Creative and Global. Each Challenge involves undertaking several tasks or taking part in activities related to a particular Programme Zone.


Activity badges
Activity badges are awarded for demonstrating skill or achievement in a particular subject which may be an existing hobby or a new area of knowledge. There are currently 73 different badges available. These are… (list of badges)


Staged Activity Badges
Staged Activity Badges can be completed by any member of the Movement between the age of 6 and 18. They are completed in different stages, so after completing each stage Members are awarded the relevant badge. As they can be completed in Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts and Explorers it is possible for a Beaver Scout to attain a higher level of a Staged Activity Badge than a Member from a higher Section.


Staged Activity badges that are available are Air Activities, Community Impact, Digital Citizen, Digital Maker, Emergency Aid, Hikes Away, Musician, Nautical Skills, Navigator, Nights Away, Paddle Sports, Sailing, Swimmer and Time on the Water. The number of stages in each badge varies.

Chief Scout's Gold Award
The Chief Scout’s Gold Award is the highest award which can be gained by Scouts. Upon completing eight of the Challenge awards, some of which are compulsory, a Scout will have earned the Chief Scout's Gold Award.

15 Aug 2016, 10:15