Back to top

Explorer Scouts

Explorer Scouts – normally shortened to explorers, are young people aged 14 to 18 year olds. explorer scouting provides a flexible and active scouting programme with an emphasis on personal challenge and adventure.

With the support, direction and guidance of their leaders explorers are encouraged to lead themselves, design their own programme and work towards the top awards that scouting offers. With exciting prospects like being a part of camps and expeditions both home and abroad; adventurous activities such as mountaineering, parascending and off shore sailing; Explorers offers fun and adventure for all. In addition, there are a number of activity badges and ambitious top awards that explorers can gain to recognise their achievements.


Explorer scout uniform consists of a long-sleeved beige shirt (light blue for sea and air explorer scouts), a neckerchief and woggle, and navy blue activity trousers scout or explorer belt and buckle or Young leader belt and buckle once achieved. A skirt, activity shorts and polo shirt are available as options. 


Awards and Badges

Progressive Awards
Explorers continue the scouting programme of progressive awards. The requirements of each stage become more challenging, reflecting the age and abilities of the young people undertaking the awards.

The three stages of the awards open to explorers are (in ascending order):

  • The Chief Scout's Platinum Award

  • The Chief Scout's Diamond Award

  • The Queen's Scout Award

Each level requires explorers demonstrate community, faith, self-motivation, personal discipline, and many other qualities.

The Duke of Edinburgh's Award works alongside the scout awards, and completion of certain sections of either award can contribute to the other.

Explorer Belt
The explorer belt  is open to all members of scouting between the ages of 16-25, and is aimed at promoting self-reliance, teamwork, and adventurous spirit.

The explorer belt requires participants to undertake a 10-day expedition in a foreign country, devoting some time to travelling around and exploring. Participants also have to undertake a major project of their own choosing, along with a number of smaller projects or challenges — some of which are not revealed to them until the start of the expedition.

Activity Badges
There are a number of activity and skill badges which can be awarded upon meeting requirements in a variety of disciplines from horse-riding to first aid. (List of badges)

Staged Activity Badges
Staged Activity Badges can be completed by any member of the Movement between the age of 6 and 18. They are completed in different stages, so after completing each stage Members are awarded the relevant badge. As they can be completed in Beaver Scouts, Cub Scouts, Scouts and Explorers it is possible for a Beaver Scout to attain a higher level of a Staged Activity Badge than a Member from a higher Section.

Staged Activity badges that are available are Air Activities, Community Impact, Digital Citizen, Digital Maker, Emergency Aid, Hikes Away, Musician, Nautical Skills, Navigator, Nights Away, Paddle Sports, Sailing, Swimmer and Time on the Water. The number of stages in each badge varies.

Young Leaders

Young Leaders are Explorer Scouts who choose to provide leadership in Beaver Scout Colonies, Cub Scout Packs or Scout Troops alongside the adult leadership team. Young Leaders have a training programme similar to that of adult leaders and consisting of eleven modules and four missions (projects). to find out more about our Young leaders Scheme click here.